eclipse galileo – a great step for OSGI Enterprise App developers

Before I start my blog-series about Eclipse 3.5 Galileo, lets start with a short summarize:

I’m using Eclipse 3.5 since Milestone M7 for my daily work as architect and developer of OSGI Enterprise business applications,

this means I have

  • large workspaces with many projects
  • complex target platforms using Eclipse and 3rd Party with duplicates / overlapping, cycles, wrong use-clauses…
  • and I’m running under OSX Cocoa

The really good news about quality of 3.5, Cocoa, PDE, P2, Target Platform etc:

Since installing of Galileo M7 on 1st of May I’m still working with this installation :-)

  • daily updates of IDE from staging + some other P2 update sites
  • daily updates of Target Platform from UpdateSites + updating/replacing local folders
  • surviving some crashes (caused by Cocoa image processing, but this works now well)
  • surviving some inconsistencies of bundle-dependencies fixed by  uninstall / install new
  • surviving problems of target platform between M7 and RC4

I know there are Bugs open and problems, but I have to say  Equinox P2 + PDE + Target Platform does a real good job in 3.5 and made my life much easier now.

I’ll blog about this in detail and talk about my experiences and give some hints.

BTW: Tomorrow (2009-06-16) I’ll present “redView (Riena EMF Dynamic Views for Business Applications)” at

Eclipse Democamp in Stuttgart.

4 responses

  1. Hello,

    Thanks for this info about Galileo.

    I’ve been investigating server side OSGi programming using Spring DM. It’s quite good, but the big issue is integration testing. The Spring DM Integration Test framework is good, but it’s hard to maintain and you need a lot of time consuming try/error cycles before you’re done.

    For me this problem is one the areas were OSGi is bringing more pain than needed:
    http://www.osgi.org/blog/2009/06/osgi-case-studies-pain.html

    Could you write a bit about how you perform integration tests in your blog-series ? Your experience would be really helpful.

    Thanks

    Frederic

  2. Frederic,
    thanks for the hint – I’ll talk about this,
    but at first I’ll blog about Galileo-specific things,
    then about redView (because redView will be published soon)
    then about migrating oAW to Eclipse Modeling
    I also have to update my blogs about Logging in OSGI Enterprise
    …you see it’ll take some time until blogging about Testing in OSGI Enterprise App
    stay tuned
    ekke
    btw: I’m an independent software architect, so its all my own-payed-time and this year testing Eclipse 3.5 consumes much time ;-)

  3. Thanks for the kind words about PDE Ekke.

    I just wanted to say thank you for being an early adopter and for helping shape the development of PDE. I only wish we had more people like you who would report bugs and give feedback. It’s the best way to work with opensource software.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

