[galileo] summary migration guide oaw5 (MWE, Xpand, Xtext)

openArchitectureWare WorkingGroup at EclipseopenArchitectureWare moved to Eclipse Modeling as part of Galileo release. This blog series reports my experiences to migrate a huge oaw4 project. This is the last part  - you’ll find an overview of this blog series here.

oaw4 means openArchitectureWare 4.3.1oaw5 means MWE (EMFT) + Xpand (M2T) + Xtext (TMF) - more infos at oaw WorkingGroup.

Overview Migration Guide from oaw4 to oaw5

  1. Overview HowTo migrate from oAW4 to oAW5
  2. Preparing Migration oaw4 –> oaw5 (PLE – featureconfig)
  3. Preparing Migration oaw4 –> oaw5 (Beautifier)
  4. Preparing Migration oaw4 –> oaw5 (MagicDraw)
  5. Install oaw5 (Xpand/Xtend, MWE, Xtext)
  6. Convert Xpand/Xtend projects from oaw4
  7. Convert MWE Workflow files from oaw4
  8. Convert Xpand/Xtend Templates from oaw4
  9. Run oaw5 (MWE) workflows (problems, performance, tips)
  10. HowTo communicate (Working Group, Forum, Newsgroups)

Open Issues

If you followed my blog series, you know that there are some bugzillas open, but no show-stoppers.

Summary

While development of oaw5 I did some small tests from time to time and it works. But I never had the time to migrate a huge real-life-project with

  • 84 MWE workflow files
  • 55 Xpand templates
  • 54 Xtend templates
  • 5 Cartridges (Java, Persistence-JPA, EJB3, BPM, Services)

using

  • UML2 MetaModel
  • UML2 Profiles
  • MagicDraw Customization DSL
  • EMF MetaModel

in 5 projects of different sizes – per ex. >500 Entity

You cannot test the migration of those projects without really doing the migration ;-)

Was something like an adventure – but it works for me now and after intensive tests I recommend to migrate from oaw4 (UML + EMF) projects.

My personal summary:

Migration was a real hard work because of missing documentation, HowTo’s, BestPractices etc.

This was the motivation for me to blog about all what happened while stepping thru this process. I wasn’t really sure if all will be run under oaw5 or if I had to go back. In this worst case my own blogs would have been my survival guide for the next iteration ;-)

Fortunately all runs (with some workarounds) and I’m able to use oaw5 from Eclipse Modeling Projects in my projects for daily work now. I imagine there will be many new users of MWE, Xpand and Xtext since all is part of Eclipse. Because my migration is done, you’ll miss me at oaw4 forum – but meet me again at Eclipse Newsgroups after your migration ;-)

As told at the beginning of this blog series – I mainly report about Xpand / Xtend, not Xtext. Xtext is (at the moment) not part of my daily work, but I have some use-cases in mind where I’ll start also using Xtext.

MDSD using oaw is fun and I like the framework since some years and it’s great to see it now under Eclipse umbrella.

I’m developing OSGI (Equinox) based Enterprise Business Applications from the domain of ERP solutions for medium-sized companies. Without using a tool like oaw I would not be able to do my work:

to design and realize complex applications from scratch to releases with success in a short time-frame.

My projects rely on:

  1. oaw for MDSD using UML, EMF, DSL
  2. PDE for Runtime / Platform – Plugin – Development
  3. Eclipse Runtime Platform (Equinox-OSGI, Riena) to make the products really run

- and all is part of Eclipse universe :-)

thx to all guys working on these great projects.

BTW: Riena and oaw5 are part of eclipse release train since Galileo

Since some weeks I’m now also an Eclipse Commiter :-) – and hopefully can give some value back.

Next blogs will be again from my project experiences:

  • Riena – Look-and-Feel (LnF)
  • redView (Riena EMF Dynamic Views for Business Applications)
  • OSGI Services, esp. Declarative Services
  • Logging in OSGI applications
  • integrating 3rd party into Equinox OSGI applications
  • BusinessProcesses and RulesEngine (use of Drools in OSGI server – and RCP client – apps)
  • EJB3 and OSGI (Easybeans)
  • PDE and Target Platforms

… and much more.

stay tuned here or follow @ekkescorner on Twitter.

ekke

BTW: I changed my FileEncoding for oaw5 to use UTF-8 instead of using ISO-8859-1 with oaw4.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,067 other followers

