Helios M6 SDK problems install from software sites

The last Helios Milestone M6 wasn’t made for me😉

At first I run into the trouble where unwanted RAP dependencies are resolved into the IDE (see this blogpost)

Now over the free easter days I was working on new update-sites and an easier install of redView for redView – developers and redView – users.

Did all my work on OSX-cocoa-64 and made it run. Then I did tests to see if it also runs well under Linux Ubuntu 64-bit and Windows 7 64-bit.

And it failed  because P2 reported many ‘no-repository-found….‘ errors. Tried another day, because I thought the problem was that some servers are not available, but same happens.

Found Bugzilla 305936 where similar problems were reported.

Then tried my work under Windows XP 32-bit and all works well – same as under OSX cocoa-64-bit.

Because Pascal Rapicault reported at Bugzilla 305936, that he wasn’t able to reproduce – I did some tests using the latest I-Build:

I added the Helios -I-Build Softwaresite: http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/updates/3.6-I-builds and did my tests again.

It still doesn’t work with those installations, where P2 failed before while trying to add the new software, but the list of ‘no-repository-found…‘ errors was much smaller.

So I did new tests in fresh installs – and now the I-Build-Update worked.

And after applying the latest I-Build I also was able to install new software from update-sites – this worked in both scenarios: under Ubuntu Linux 64-bit and also Windows 7 64-bit.

Install-New-Software on Helios M6 SDK Linux / Windows 64-bit fails ?

here’s how it worked for me:

  • Install Helios SDK M6 …64-bit
  • Add Software Site for I-Builds: http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/updates/3.6-I-builds
  • Check for Updates and install the latest I-Build (in my case was 20100330…)
  • Add your Software Sites or select from Helios Site what you need, don’t forget to check ‘contact all available Software-Sites’

…hopefully it works for you, too and M7 won’t cause any problems😉

Leave a Reply

